Cherry Brown Butter Bars

by
Yummy Goodness

Yummy Goodness

As I mentioned the other day, I’ve been on a major baking kick lately. Luckily I haven’t made *everything* on that list, but I did make a nice dent.

Friday evening I made the Blueberry Oat Scones to serve as our breakfast for the week, and yesterday I indulged in Cherry Brown Butter Bars. Good news: They really are as good as they looked! Definitely a recipe I’ll make again:

Recipe courtesy of Smitten Kitchen, my new favourite food blog. This woman can do no wrong. Everything she posts looks like a recipe I want to make as soon as possible. Her latest post is hamburger buns… sound up my alley? Of course. Back to the Cherry Brown Butter Bars. Full recipe is here, and I stuck to her recipe pretty spot on. My only change was that I did use the entire pound of cherries, and since we don’t own a fancy cherry pitter, we sliced ours in half. That also meant that ours didn’t look near as pretty as hers did, but I’m ok with that.

These really are just delicious. The browned butter gives it such a rich flavour – almost like a toasted marshmallow. My only problem was that mine stuck to the parchment paper… that’s not supposed to happen! I think I need to seek out better types. Any suggestions, anyone?

One Response to “Cherry Brown Butter Bars”

  1. Black Forest Sandwich Cookies « Life at No. 71 Says:

    […] where I had an excess of cherries. Far too many for Adam or I to just eat, and even after making these yummy  bars, we had lots and lots. I ended up making a nice batch of Black Forest Conserve – and while it […]

Leave a Reply

