Our Garden, Week-by-Week: Week 7

by
The whole plot, July 19th.

The whole plot, July 19th.

I’m mostly pleased with how our garden is going, with a few notable exceptions.

First, the bad. What is UP with our roses? Remember how beautiful the rose bush once was, and how excited I was? That day is no more.

July 1st Rosebush... so beautiful!

July 1st Rosebush... so beautiful!

The big beautiful roses are no more. Over the last two weeks all of the flowers have wilted and started looking sickly, and a bulk of the leaves have developed yellow spots. Here are a few shots from today:

Yellow spots on the leaves.

Yellow spots on the leaves.

A sad looking wilted rose.

A sad looking wilted rose.

After I took those photos I went in and trimmed a lot off of the rosebush – cutting off all dead flowers and a bulk of the yellowed leaves with hopes that it will grow back healthier. But… what happened?? Is it diseased? Is there something we can do to fix it? Help!

The other less scary thing that we would like tips on is our spinach. Having never grown spinach, I really don’t know if this looks normal or not:

Spinach!

Spinach

Other than that, things are doing wonderfully – and I can’t wait to eat fresh tomatoes, zucchini, eggplant, and cayenne peppers!

The first zucchini, which should be ready to pick in a few days!

The first zucchini, which should be ready to pick in a few days!

A pretty purple flower, where an eggplant will (hopefully) soon emerge.

A pretty purple flower, where an eggplant will (hopefully) soon emerge.

A lovely cluster of tomatoes.

A lovely cluster of tomatoes.

Look at all those peppers on that little plant!

Look at all those peppers on that little plant!

The whole plot, July 19th.

The whole plot, July 19th.

We have one more week of focusing on our garden before we leave town for nearly a week and a half. We will have someone water it at least, but I’m curious how much it will change in that time – and if we’ll come home to any baseball bat sized zucchinis!

4 Responses to “Our Garden, Week-by-Week: Week 7”

  1. futurestandard Says:

    how sad about your rose plant. I have never grown them so I don’t have any ideas about what it could be.

    however, I have grown spinach. it looks like your spinach has “bolted.” I don’t know where you live, but spinach is a cool weather plant. when it gets hot, the spinach bolts upward and starts to produce seed. same thing with leaf lettuces. you can still eat it though, it doesn’t get bitter like lettuce does when it bolts, but your spinach is pretty much done producing leaves for the season.

  2. Cari Miller Says:

    Thanks for that info! I’ve had lettuce bolt in past years – I just didn’t realize that was what had happened to the spinach. Good to hear it doesn’t impact the taste. I guess it’s time to pick what I’ve got and maybe plant something else…

  3. mrsmarshall Says:

    The rose needs some fungal spray, probably. Take a few of those leaves to your local nursery and ask what they recommend. There are several sprays to choose from, but most of them are not safe around food, so if the rose is near your veggies I would look for a more organic solution. Good luck!!

  4. Cari Miller Says:

    One person said it may well just be a case of overwatering. I’ve yet to have anymore come back once I picked off the gross leaves – so I’m hoping that’s the case. I’ll give it a week and see if it starts improving, and if not – I’ll do what you’ve suggested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

