Pumpkin Millet Muffins

by

Pumpkin Millet Muffins

I’ve been wanting to make pumpkin something for a few weeks now. I even agreed to getting another pie pumpkin in our weekly veggie bin. (Something I’d sworn I’d never do after my last attempt at getting purée from it… but now I realize that I was just stubbornly avoiding it because my one experience wasn’t so fabulous. Of course, that’s primarily because I hadn’t given myself the time needed to cook the pumpkin so I was short on time and stressed. Anyway…)

So now I’ve got this pie pumpkin taunting me. I figured I’d make a pumpkin pie at some point, but then realized I have no where to take a pumpkin pie to, and Adam and I couldn’t possibly eat one on our own.

In the meantime, we had some friends over for a pumpkin carving on Halloween, and someone brought some canned pumpkin purée as he was set on making pumpkin shortbread milkshakes… Surprisingly, those turned out pretty tasty, but it left us with almost a full can of opened pumpkin purée. Must. Make. Pumpkin. Something.

I’ve been scouring blogs and recipe sites with little luck. Sure there are lots of really amazing looking recipes out there (and yes, most of them seem to belong to Smitten Kitchen…), but none of them really seemed quite right. Either I was missing an ingredient (walnuts), or they were too sweet (cupcakes/brownies), or just something that didn’t really seem worth it (waffles). Vanilla Sugar’s scones were a front runner today, but I just didn’t have enough of the ingredients on hand, and Adam and I are leaving town in just over a week… so not worth it quite yet.

Then Adam reminded me of these lovely Pumpkin Millet Muffins! They came on a Green Earth Organics bulletin last year, and while they required a few changes, they’re super tasty and very pumpkin-y! The millet is a great addition, too – it adds a really nice crunch. So that was that. Breakfast until we leave town.

Pumpkin Millet Muffins:

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/2 cups pumpkin purée
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil (can be reduced to 1/4 cup without much issue – it just won’t be as moist)
  • 1 cup buttermilk*
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1/4 cup raw pumpkin seeds**
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat flour (or if you’d rather, 1 cup whole wheat + 1/2 cup all purpose is fine – just end up with 1-3/4 cups total)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon grated nutmeg

Instructions:

  1. Grease muffin tin (12 large muffins) and preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Toast millet until lightly browned in a small dry skillet over med-high heat. (If you are a pumpkin seed fan and decide to include them, toast those as well)
  3. In a large bowl, combine eggs, oil, buttermilk (or water if you’re using dry), sugar, vanilla, and pumpkin. Mix well. Stir in oats and toasted millet.
  4. In a small bowl, combine all of the dry ingredients (don’t forget the buttermilk powder if using dry).
  5. Add dry ingredients to wet, and mix gently – don’t overmix!
  6. Bake for 25 minutes, until toothpick comes out clean. Or if you’re me, until chopstick comes out clean.

* I hardly ever use buttermilk these days, or even bother with the vinegar in milk trick. I always keep dry buttermilk powder in the fridge. For 1 cup buttermilk, just use 1 cup water in it’s place, and then add 4 tablespoons of the powder in with the dry ingredients.

** The original recipe included this so I left it for reference, but I would advise against this, unless you have a real fondness for pumpkin seeds. The texture is just a bit odd in muffins.

pumpkin

Stop taunting me, pie pumpkin!

Of course, that damn pie pumpkin will have to wait… I should have time this weekend to make some purée and freeze it. We’re only in town for another week, but surely we can make something pumpkin-y for our US Thanksgiving dinner when we get back.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Millet Muffins”

  1. Betsy Says:

    For some reason, when I first read the title of this blog I read ‘Pumpkin Mullet Muffins’…. 🙂

  2. Cari Miller Says:

    Mmmm, mullet…

    I wonder what a mullet muffin would look like… half of the top eaten away?

Leave a Reply

