Sweet Sesame Meringue

by

For dinner tonight, Adam and I used Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian for inspiration, and decided on pasta. Not having any store bought pasta on hand, I decided to go ahead and make fresh – really not so hard with the Kitchenaid attachment we’ve blogged about before. I used the Bittman recipe this time, and it calls for 2 whole eggs and 3 egg yolks… leaving me 3 egg whites. I then turned to the meringue section and found many recipes calling for 4 egg whites – so in the end I only wasted 1 yolk.

These turned out lovely – crisp on the outside and chewy inside, and the toasted sesame orange combo  worked really well. Definitely something I’ll do again in similar circumstances.

Sweet Sesame Meringue:


Meringue

  • 4 egg whites
  • 1 cup superfine or regular sugar (I used regular)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds
  • 2 teaspoons lemon zest (I used orange instead)
  1. Preheat oven to 300°F. Beat egg whites until foamy, and slowly add everything but the sesame seeds and zest. Continue to beat until stiff peaks form.
  2. Whipped Egg

  3. Fold in the sesame seeds and lemon zest.
  4. Line a baking sheet with wax or parchment paper. Use a pastry bag (or be like me and use a ziplock bag with the corner cut off) and form small mounds of meringue. You can keep them close together as they won’t rise.
  5. Bake until hard and lightly browned – about 40 to 45 minutes. Let cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes before eating. They will keep in an airtight container for about 3 days.

Meringues - Done

Enjoy!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Sweet Sesame Meringue”

  1. savorysimple Says:

    What an interesting take on a meringue! This looks delicious.

  2. tofugirl Says:

    Cute! You fold the whole sesame seeds in, right? (I mean, they don’t get ground or anything first?) I love sesame anything, so I’ll definitely be trying this one out.

  3. Stuffed Butternut Squash « Life at No. 71 Says:

    […] I really like about Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything Vegetarian that I keep talking about is that besides being a generally good reference, it’s also fairly loose in it’s […]

  4. Pita from Scratch « Life at No. 71 Says:

    […] think my favourite part of this new cookbook that I can’t stop talking about is that it’s full of ideas. Do you have some leftover egg whites? Make […]

Leave a Reply

