Spanakopita

by

IMG_1131
We’ve made this one before, and each time we make it we wonder why we don’t cook with phyllo more often. Such an easy and wonderful dish filled with amazing spinach flavour, salty feta and creamy ricotta cheese. The onion and garlic adds a nice balance, and the phyllo ends up perfectly every time. Of course, buying the ready made frozen phyllo makes it a no-brainer. I can’t say I’ve attempted the phyllo-from-scratch thing… yet.

And while fresh spinach is certainly nice, frozen spinach works just as well – making it even easier.

Our friends Adam and Emily helped us out with this one as we made it for the same meal as the 40-clove chicken and baguettes, so I was a bit preoccupied. They laid out layers of dough and brushed oil like pros! It’s really handy to have someone else do all of the work on something in your own kitchen. Come over anytime, guys!

Spanakopita
adapted fromΒ recipezaar.com

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 bunch of scallions, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced (or mashed)
  • 2 lbs spinach – fresh or frozen (we used 2 packages of frozen this time, which was a bit less – still turned out yummy. If you use frozen, defrost it first.)
  • 1/2 cup chopped parsley
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup ricotta
  • 1 cup feta, crumbled
  • 8 sheets phyllo
  • 1/4 cup more olive oil
  1. Preheat oven to 350Β°F. Oil a square baking pan. The original recipe calls for 9×9, but I typically use an 8×8 pan, and it works quite well.
  2. Heat 3 tbsps olive oil in a large skillet. Add onions, scallions, and garlic and cook until browned.
  3. Add spinach and saute until fresh spinach is limp, or frozen spinach is heated through. Set aside to cool.
  4. Mix eggs, ricotta, feta in a large bowl. Stir in spinach mixture.
  5. Lay 1 sheet phyllo into the baking pan, and brush with olive oil. Lay another sheet on top of it, and brush with more oil. Repeat until you have used 4 sheets total. The sheets will hang over the pan – that’s ok.
  6. Spread the spinach/cheese mixture into the pan, and fold the overhanging dough over the top. Brush with oil, and then layer the remaining 4 sheets with oil brushed after each layer. Tuck overhang into the pan to seal the filling. We kind of just folded it into itself, so the spanakopita had a little hat.
  7. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until golden brown.

Enjoy!

Tags: , , ,

30 Responses to “Spanakopita”

  1. slamdunk Says:

    That looks wonderful. Nicely done.

  2. charskitchen Says:

    yum, thank you so much for posting this recipe! this is really interesting and i don’t think that i’ve ever tried anything like this before.
    http://www.charskitchen.wordpress.com

  3. Nora Salem Says:

    This is so yummy! Also try the Middle Eastern version. It’s awesome!

    ~~NS
    http://www.norasalemwrites.wordpress.com

  4. izziedarling Says:

    Love spanakopita – thanks for the recipe!

  5. melanirae Says:

    That is my absolute favorite! I have never made it myself though, but am going to attempt it this weekend:) Thanks!

  6. Emir Says:

    It looks delicious, but you should really try making phyllo from scratch – it just adds that much of a difference in taste, in the way spanakopita looks once baked…
    In addition, you should try Bosnian spinach pie – I prefer it because I’m from Bosnia, but you might as well: http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/Bosnian-Pita-phyllo-pie-with-Spinach-Filling-11270

    • Cari Miller Says:

      Ya know, I’ve done puff pastry from scratch before, so surely I could manage phyllo too, right? I’ll have to try it sometime. But you definitely can’t beat the convenience of the frozen type!

      I’ll have to give the Bosnian type a try sometime. The sour cream/cheddar addition sounds yummy!

  7. robocooker Says:

    You phyllo looks like is was cooked perfectly, it looks great. Thank you for making a seemingly intimidating dish look easy through a well written description. I like to add a little mint when I make this, it adds to the earthiness of the spinach.

  8. pennypudding Says:

    I love spanakopita, and especially this super easy casserole version. You can also make this vegan by substituting earth balance or margarin for butter and using tofu instead of feta. Of course it takes a bit of experimentation to get the flavors right, but it does make a great vegan dish.

  9. ramonakent Says:

    This looks Yummy!!

  10. Breland Kent Says:

    What a great blog, I really enjoyed reading πŸ™‚

  11. quotid Says:

    Mmm! This looks so yummy! I’m now inspired to start making this too. I was just wondering, what adaptations did you make to the recipe?

    • Cari Miller Says:

      Not many. We upped the feta a bit (because we had more on hand), and used frozen instead of fresh spinach. As you can see from the suggestions in the comments – it’s a really easy one to change up based on what you have on hand. Add different spices, yogurt, or even sour cream – it’s a tasty dish no matter what you do to it, it seems πŸ™‚

  12. Andrea Says:

    Yummy I LOVE Spanakopita!I’ll definitely try this

  13. Julie Says:

    You can also buy fresh fillo pastry, which is even easier to use. It is in the fridge at your supermarket.

  14. worldlybitess Says:

    thanks for sharing this recipe! i have phyllo pastry in my freezer that i’ve been waiting to use!

  15. Heather Says:

    Looks really good. I have a package of phyllo pastry that keeps begging me to take it out every time I open the freezer. I’ll have to give this a try. πŸ™‚

  16. freemasonry Says:

    wow! it looks so delicious!

  17. natnoob Says:

    omg this looks amazing! trying it out now πŸ™‚

  18. jhsketch Says:

    Great! I’ll have to try this!
    Thanks

  19. mmurniati Says:

    Spanakotyropita is wonderful. Yet due to the strong taste of feta cheese in it, my children stopped to eat it after a bite or two.

    I used to make the recipe with the herbs, garlic and onions until a friend of mine, who runs The Greek Cookery Class (www.facebook.com/GreekCookery), told me to simplify it by substituting them with a pot of Greek yoghurt (250-300). It does do the trick.

  20. Songbird Says:

    looks amazing!! would love that as a light lunch with a nice salad… :o)

  21. jenhassunshine Says:

    mmmmm i like phyllo.. and nice shot!

  22. misplacedperson Says:

    That sounds spectacular. I may give it a try next week.

    http://dinnerwiththeomnivore.wordpress.com/

  23. Moranna Says:

    Yes – phyllo pastry is sooooo useful!! I use it a lot, particularly as I have two grand daughters who are vegetarians. I do a sort of apple strudel with phyllo – I can’t seem to make enough of it for them!

  24. sarastas Says:

    I have been eating so much Spanakotyropita because it is litereally everywhere in Greece. I have not attempted to make it yet, but I plan on trying when I am back in the states.

  25. GraceKay Says:

    Its sounds wonderful and seems pretty easy to make. Great picture!

  26. justalittlepiece Says:

    That looks beautiful and delicious.

  27. jenilynjung Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you to Fresh Pressed for featuring your blog! I’ve been searching for a good recipe blog for awhile!

  28. 2010 Food-In-Review « Life at No. 71 Says:

    […] Spanakopita – We love Greek food and successfully made a delicious spanakopita that was nearly as good as the ones we’ve had in restaurants. […]

Leave a Reply

