Cinnamon Rolls

by

Cinnamon Roll

For most of us (myself included), cinnamon rolls were always either something that came out of a tube, or a specialty item that you buy at a bakery. As tasty (and easy) as the the Pillsbury tube-o-cinnamon-rolls are, I’ve been wanting to make cinnamons rolls completely from scratch for quite awhile. The downside is it’s not a quick thing to make – as a yeast dough with several rising steps, it takes several hours, so it’s tough to actually have for breakfast unless you’re a very, very early riser.

After I saw a tweet with this recipe, I knew it was time. It proved to be more of an indulgent lunch than breakfast, but it was an awesome weekend treat. I’ll definitely be doing it again – though perhaps next time with a group invited over to help us eat them. While I’m sure Adam’s coworkers appreciated the bulk of the batch, it would have been more ideal to have them all eaten fresh out of the oven, at their peak.

I made no adjustments to this recipe whatsoever, so I’ll just link to the recipe here. One comment I will make is that if you’re not planning on eating all of them right away – only glaze the ones you plan on eating, and save the rest to put on when reheating. Otherwise it kind of dissolves into the rolls making a sweet sticky mess.

If you have time to put these together, I highly, highly recommend them! YUM.

Cinnamon Rolls

2 Responses to “Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. bellegroveatportconway Says:

    I really enjoyed your post! I am opening a bed and breakfast on the historic property where James Madison was born soon. So I am always on the lookout for good ideas for breakfast. I look forward to your future post!

    • Cari Miller Says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it – I hope they turn out as wonderfully for you as they did for us! So, so yummy. I must admit – owning a bed & breakfast is one of those pipe dreams Adam and I dream about someday. Oh to have baking cinnamon rolls as a part of my job…. aaaah 😉

Leave a Reply

