Pumpkin Spice Syrup

by

I recently discovered Starbucks’ Pumpkin Spice Latte. I realize I’m a bit late to the game on this one – it’s been around for awhile and gets hyped every year. I never really got it before – it didn’t sound so appealing, really – but about a month ago I decided to give one a try. I was pretty instantly hooked, and proceeded to buy at least one a week. $20 or so into my addiction, I stumbled upon a few recipes for a homemade pumpkin spice latte. Brilliant!

I followed this recipe, and it turned out great! Very simple to make… basically a simple syrup with lots of added spices and a bit of pumpkin thrown in for good measure. You do have to strain it – but that’s a simple step, so don’t let it deter you. And really, you could skip it all together and just end up with extra goopy spice stuff at the bottom of each latte… not such a bad thing. I have an espresso machine (that I hadn’t pulled out in well over a year), but according to the original site you can make it with just strong coffee as well. And I will say that this syrup can make a pumpkin spice latte as good (or better?) than what would cost $5 at a Starbucks. I’d recommend this to anyone who shares my addiction!

As an added bonus – this syrup can be used for other things too. Last night I mixed it 1:1 with some dark rum, filled up the glass with some boiling water, and added some whipped cream on top… Instant awesome hot spiced rum! So perfect for a fall evening.

Leave a Reply

